Spanning backup for Shared Mailboxes

Spanning provide protection for Shared mailboxes.

What is it:

Shared mailboxes are used when multiple people need access to the same mailbox, such as a company information or support email address, reception desk, or other function that might be shared by multiple people.

How it calculates:

We provide a number of free Shared Mailboxes equal to the number of Spanning standard licenses you have. If you have more Shared Mailboxes than standard licenses, each additional Shared Mailbox will require an extra standard license, and you will need to purchase more Spanning standard licenses. For example, if you have 10 Spanning standard licenses and 12 Shared Mailboxes, you will need to purchase 2 additional standard licenses to protect all the Shared Mailboxes.

How we process existing accounts:

  • All shared mailboxes previously protected with regular licenses will remain protected after migration, regardless of the shared mailbox limit based on your current standard license count. We will continue to protect all existing shared mailboxes, even if their number exceeds the standard licenses. However, new shared mailboxes cannot be protected until you increase the number of licenses.
  • Standard licenses previously used by shared mailboxes will be released back into the pool of available licenses to protect users in the domain.

How we protect accounts migrated from/to Shared mailboxes:

When you migrate Standard license user mailbox to Shared Mailbox, we will protect that account automatically in case you have free licenses for shared mailbox.

 

When you migrate a Shared Mailbox to a Standard user and you don't have available licenses for Shared mailbox, there are two possible scenarios:

  1. Auto-Purchase Enabled: We will automatically purchase a new license and protect the user.
  2. Auto-Purchase Disabled: We will immediately notify you that Spanning could not protect this user. You can then decide whether to protect the user. The user will appear on the Manage Licenses tab without an assigned license. You have 30 days to purchase a license and enable protection manually. After 30 days, the user's data will be deleted.

 

Have more questions?

Contact us

Was this article helpful?
1 out of 1 found this helpful

Provide feedback for the Documentation team!

Browse this section