How do I enable shared docs for backup for multiple users?

By default, shared documents are excluded from the backup. However, enabling the backup of shared items is easy!  To back up shared documents for all users in your domain, follow these steps:
​​
1. Log into your Spanning account as the admin user for your domain.
2. Select the ‘Settings’ tab.
3. Under the ‘Drive’ sub-heading, check the box for “Back up shared drive files for new users by default”.


 

4. To apply this setting to all users in your domain that currently have a seat assigned, click the “Apply to Existing Users” button.

 

5. Select ‘Overwrite’.


If you want to update the setting for backing up shared items for individual users in your domain one at a time, follow these steps:
1. Log into your Spanning account as the admin user for your domain.
2. Click the ‘viewing as’ button in the upper-right corner of the screen, and select the desired user’s account.
3. Select the Settings tab.
4. Under the ‘Drive’ sub-heading, un-check the box that says “Don’t back up documents that are shared with me”.  You will then see a message that documents that are shared with that user will also be backed up.



 

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Contact us
Provide feedback for the Documentation team!