To minimize accidental changes to cloud resources, be very careful with any of the delete actions that are available on the Manage Data screen. Anything you delete is a hard delete, which means the data is not recoverable later from a trash can.
IT Glue has restrictions to inadvertently delete all data in the platform in order to protect the integrity of your data. We can grant you the ability to proceed with the deletions by making the option to 'permanently delete all data including all related/child records' temporarily available on your account. Prior to deleting synced/disconnected/orphaned data out of ITGlue, contact IT Glue Support.
Administrators and Managers can perform bulk operations, but we recommend that only Administrators are tasked with bulk delete actions, so that they can make sure there is a recent backup.
Bulk actions performed from the Manage Data screen or Removing a PSA integration sections are not recoverable from the app. If data has been deleted via this method and a restore is required, we would need to initiate a Disaster Recovery request which is a paid service request and not included in your subscription costs.
Remember how your data was created
Data in IT Glue may have come from multiple sources, so if you delete lots of data, getting it back may not be as easy as you think.
For example, imagine this fairly common scenario. You sign up for IT Glue but do not initially integrate with a PSA. You manually create a new client organization called Happy Frog in IT Glue. Your team starts documenting the client in IT Glue, adding 45 devices (configurations), 4 flexible assets, and 15 documents. Most of this data was imported from CSV, Word documents, or possibly even an RMM import.
Later on, you add your PSA to IT Glue and run your first sync. This initial sync added organizations with many different company types from your PSA.
You then realize that you did not want to add all these company types. To undo the action you just performed, you disconnect a company type from the Manage Data screen and choose to permanently delete the data, but without realizing how much data would be deleted.
Happy Frog existed in your PSA with that company type. During the first sync, the sync logic in IT Glue connected the Happy Frog in IT Glue to the PSA. When you disconnected the company type, Happy Frog was deleted, and every device, document, and other asset that had been added to Happy Frog before the first sync was also deleted.
Checklist for bulk deleting
Because bulk deleting actions cannot be undone, we also recommend the following:
|A user with an Administrator role should...
|View the organizations that will be deleted, and make sure you want everything that belongs to those organizations also deleted. This includes passwords, domains, documents, and flexible assets. Any attachments and related items will also be deleted.
|Delete assets (configurations, contacts, etc.)
|View the assets that will be deleted. Some configurations may have had their status changed to inactive through the PSA and you may consider keeping them in IT Glue.
|Delete the full PSA integration
|View all the connected organizations and everything that belongs to those organizations. This will be a full wipe of all of this data.