What happens if I change the email address of a user?

Spanning Backup accounts are tied directly to the username of the user in your domain.  So, when a username is changed in the Google admin console for a user that is currently receiving daily backup from Spanning Backup, that user’s old username retains an active license in the Spanning License Manager.  This user can be seen at the bottom of the user list in the License Manager under the “Deleted Google Users” heading.  Additionally, the new username will also appear in the License Manager, but, with no license assigned, as this is a ‘new’ user for Spanning Backup.

 

If you are comfortable with everything that is currently in the user’s Google Account, you can simply switch the license from the old username to the new username.  This will treat the new username as a “new” account and perform the initial backup of all content that is currently in the account.

 

If you feel that you might want to restore data from when the account had the old username at some point in the future, then you will need to perform a cross-user restore of the backup data from the old username to the new username, so that the old backup data is also stored in the new user’s account.  When you are comfortable that you have all of the old data restored into the new user’s account, then you can unassign the license from the old username and re-assign it to the new username.  It is important to remember, however, that after a user hasn’t had an assigned license for 30 days, then Spanning purges the backup data from our servers.

 

If you want to ensure that you retain all of the backup data from both the old username and new username, then you will need to have 2 active licenses: one for each username.

 
Was this article helpful?
0 out of 1 found this helpful
Have more questions? Contact us