Follow

License Limit Exceeded error

KB#:  KKB000286

QUESTION

Sometimes when I try to log into my Kaseya Server, I receive an error saying License Limit Exceeded. What does this mean?

I cannot log on. I get pop-up message "License Limit Exceeded". Why?

 

ANSWER

This message indicates the number of concurrent Administrator sessions has been exceeded. This may occur if previous browser connections were not logged off cleanly or if administrators log on from different browsers simultaneously.

You can wait approximately 30 minutes for the stale sessions to be automatically cleared.

Please note that when you receive the "License Limit Exceeded" error, whereas you cannot access any functionality in the Product, you can still click on the Logoff link on the top-right corner of the UI, which will clear ALL sessions for this user (both current and stale ones).

Alternatively if another Kaseya user is logged in already, they can clear all existing and stale sessions, by accessing the System tab > Server Management > License Manager. Select the different Role Types available and click on View Sessions button:


 

Expand the new pop-up window, select the users that have multiple sessions open, and click on Log Off Selected Sessions:


MORE INFORMATION

If you need to have multiple, different users logging into Kaseya concurrently, you can purchase additional administrators. Go to the Kaseya Portal tab > Subscriptions to add more users or contact your Account Manager.

See a couple of examples below with two users: Alice and Bob:

 

 Use Case #1:

Alice logs in from browser1, then she closes browser1 (1st session - stale)

Alice logs in from browser2 (2nd session - live)

Bob tries to logon, gets error.

Bob clicks the logoff link, logs back in, gets error again. This means Bob does NOT have any stale session, but Alice does. Bob cannot do anything to resolve the situation, other than contact Alice.

Alice has 2 options: Kill the browser1 session using License Manager, or click logoff (which will close both her sessions)

Bob can log in now.

 

Use Case #2:

Alice logs in from browser1, then close browser1 (1st session - stale)

Alice logs in from browser2, then close browser2 (2nd session - stale)

Bob tries to logon, gets error.

Bob clicks the logoff link, logs back in, gets error again. This means Bob does NOT have any stale session, but Alice does. Bob cannot do anything to resolve the situation, other than contact Alice.

Alice tries to log in again, gets error.

Alice clicks the logoff link (cleaning browser1 and browser 2 stale sessions), and logs back in successfully.

Bob can log in now.

 

 

APPLIES TO

VSA All versions

Was this article helpful?
1 out of 1 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Article is closed for comments.